LIFE IS STRANGE: EPISODE ONE.

“There is a sweet and subtle attention to natural lighting, with frequent shots of sunlight peeping through the trees. It’s almost autumnal.”

 

20200418194445_1

With ‘overwhelmingly positive’ reviews, I thought I’d download the free-to-play first episode of the 2015 adventure series, Life is Strange

The game gets off to a promising start, but flops within the first five minutes of gameplay. It’s a slow-burner, but I’d say it’s worth persevering.

Life is Strange uses a standard ‘point-and-click’ format to guide gameplay. It uses a unique, illustrious style, complimented by soothing acoustic tones that omit a somewhat ‘indie’ vibe.

life_is_strange_Max stands next to a wall covered in Polaroid pictures with a large white circle that allows players to interact with the area.
it’s sometimes tricky to scan and select with the mouse button, even though objects of interest are clearly highlighted.

Like most modern games, you are reminded that your actions have consequences, which is demonstrated through interacting with items and select responses during spoken dialogue. This can be altered by rewinding time, meaning you can create a near-enough flawless gameplay experience.

Life is Strange is very dialogue-heavy, which can become tedious at times and if you don’t check Max’s diary periodically, you’ll have plenty to read.
Players can select their approach through a choice-driven narrative. During my first playthrough, I opted for the honest and straight-forward approach.

All in all, it was a good introductory episode.

Episode One – Chrysalis – was intended to be an easy ride.
Achievements are unlocked by uncovering hidden Polaroid picture opportunities, which are instantly stored in Max’s journal. It’s a neat feature, with the journal providing a reference point for current objectives, whilst keeping the player in the loop.

Life is Strange lacked any real challenge making it easy playing.
Max’s character was disappointingly flat and not at all convincing. She appeared mildly rattled by her new-found ability to rewind time. Here’s hoping she’ll come out of her shell in Episode Two.

**UPDATE**
24.04.20

So, it’s been nearly four years since I last played Life is Strange (how time flies!) and I felt a longing to revisit it.
I have since played its second instalment Before the Storm, including the final Farewell episode with Max and Chloe, and my perspective has changed.

Whereas before I thought Life is Strange lacked any real originality, I now think that it’s a deep, emotional exploration into late teenhood.

There are some significant life changes that take place throughout and each characters actions could be perceived as relatable human responses, despite the sci-fi subject matter.

Yes, Life is Strange does move at a snail’s pace, especially Episode One where you’re introduced to all the key characters within the game.
Yet, you can feel that there’s more to the story as it gradually escalates.

During my second playthrough, I decided to make the opposite decisions to the ones I made originally. Even the ones I thought were risky mostly resulted in very little difference in character responses.
I would often rewind just so I could change my mind again!

I still wasn’t bowled over by Max’s character and Chloe is the type of self-involved personality that I would usually avoid in real-life, but together their personalities complimented each other.

Give yourself a chance to truly immerse yourself in the world of Life is Strange before making a definitive decision about whether you like it or not. It’s a game you’ll have to play over and over again to really appreciate it.

EPISODE COMPLETED 28/07/16
12/12 ACHIEVEMENTS (100%)
ADD ME ON STEAM @AMYREBECCAMOORE

*all screenshots from personal gameplay.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑